Wisconsin Federal & State Employment Law Resources
Wisconsin Unemployment Insurance Laws of 1932
Wisconsin’s Unemployment Insurance laws cover employers who pay at least $1,500 in wages during any calendar quarter, or who have at least 1 employee for a minimum of 20 weeks in the current or preceding calendar year. Independent contractors are not covered by Wisconsin’s Unemployment Insurance laws.
In general, employees are able to receive benefits unless they voluntarily quit or are terminated for misconduct. Leaving employment for personal, family, or medical reasons, a wage reduction of more than one-third of the employee’s wages, or for good cause attributable to the employer generally will not be considered a voluntary quit.
The materials appearing in this website and on our blog are for general informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice or create an attorney-client relationship and may not always reflect the most current legal developments. For additional information about our firm, please contact us at 1-262-780-1953 or firstname.lastname@example.org